Competition Law

A dynamic approach and fast action are definitive characteristics not only of competition itself, but also of competition law and legal counsel on competition law.

Since JBB Rechtsanwälte was founded in 1999, competition law has repeatedly undergone tremendous change – starting with the long overdue repeal of the act on trade discounts and the ordinance on giveaways, continuing with the enactment of the amended law on unfair competition in 2004, on through to the Unfair Commercial Practices Directive implemented in German law at the end of 2008.

Providing counsel on matters involving competition law is one of the main focuses of our law firm. Not only do we have a sound knowledge of substantive law at our fingertips; we also have a wide range of experience in both asserting and warding off claims governed by competition law. By far the majority of disputes in this field are decided by temporary injunction or restraining order issued in summary proceedings. We are familiar with all the ins and outs of the special rules of procedural law that this entails.

The very swiftness of these proceedings necessarily calls for an extremely quick response. Each of the attorneys working at JBB Rechtsanwältetherefore has all the know-how and skills required to conduct this kind of litigation, on top of which four of our six partners have a specialist qualification in intellectual property rights. Our team is equipped to step into disputes involving competition issues at a moment's notice and to take prompt and qualified action, even if multiple proceedings have to be conducted all at once.

When providing advice on matters involving competition law, we again adopt an entrepreneurial approach, and we advise against any procedure that is not based on a sound business decision.

Thanks to our law firm’s good reputation in the field of IP, one of our partners was appointed a member of the DAV founding committee for a new study group on “Intellectual Property and the Media” in 2008. He has subsequently been elected the study group’s chairman.

Dr. Martin Jaschinski
Oliver Brexl
Thomas Nuthmann
Sebastian Biere
Dr. Zeynep Balazünbül
Dr. Jeannette Viniol LL.M.
Sebastian Wasner